Finalists for Chancellor Named

District Announces Finalists for Chancellor Position

The Board of Trustees has announced four finalists for the position of chancellor of the Foothill-De Anza Community College District to succeed Judy Miner, who retires Sept. 1 after 35 years with the district. 

Each candidate will visit the district for a day between May 1 and May 4 for additional interviews and to participate in open forums. 

In alphabetical order, the finalists are: 

Farouk Dey, vice provost, Johns Hopkins University 

Lee Lambert, chancellor, Pima Community College 

Richard Storti, executive vice chancellor of administrative services, San Mateo Community College District 

Rowena Tomaneng, president, San José City College 

Prior to joining Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore as the inaugural vice provost for integrative learning and life design in 2018, Dey served as dean and associate vice provost of career and experiential education at Stanford University. He holds doctorate degrees in educational leadership from the University of Florida.

Chancellor at Pima Community College in Tucson for nearly 10 years, Lambert previously served as president of Shoreline Community College in Washington. He holds a juris doctor from Seattle University. 

Prior to joining San Mateo County Community College District in 2021 as executive vice chancellor of administrative services, Storti served as deputy chancellor of West Hills Community College District in Coalinga. He holds a doctorate degree in education from the University of Southern California.   

Now in her third year as president at San José City College, Tomaneng previously served as president of Berkeley City College. She holds a doctorate degree in international multicultural education from the University of San Francisco. 

More information about the candidates can be found on the district’s chancellor search website at

The public is invited to attend the open forums with the finalists Monday through Thursday next week at 1 p.m. in person in the District Office Board Room (Building D700, Room 101) or via Zoom. The forum schedule and links to join the meetings virtually are available on the chancellor search website.

"We are grateful to the search committee and our consultants for bringing us such qualified candidates to succeed Chancellor Miner following her well-earned retirement," said Board of Trustees President Patrick Ahrens. "We very much look forward to meeting with and interviewing the candidates." 

A search committee made up Foothill-De Anza’s constituent groups recommended the finalists after a national search.

The Board of Trustees expects to complete the selection process in June.


Posted April 27, 2023